Probably one of the most difficult things I’ve learned is deciding what content to post. I’ve already written about this a little bit (and no doubt will again) but I want to go into it further.

I was all set to do a blog series on food. Specifically the kind that would require 2 blog posts a month, money, ingredients, time, etc. I was actually kind of excited for it. True story. It was going to help me learn how to cook, I could enjoy (maybe) the results of my attempts and it would help me grow (as a blogger, as a photographer, chef, yada yada yada). No, food wasn’t going to be the main focus and I wasn’t trying to be a food blogger. There are many, MANY talented bloggers who really live and eat the food industry and I am not one of those. That is not to say that I or anyone else couldn’t get started down that path, it’s just not for me. And that’s cool.

Anyway I was working on one for April (so there would be one to view on Launch Day) and I got one done. One food item out of five. And the one that was attempted? One I had made before so I understood what was needed. I had picked out 2 more treats to try and I had no idea what the last two would be.

I’m still in school, coming up on finals. Unfortunately food, at least really creating in the kitchen, isn’t a top priority. I had to figure out what I was going to do about that little series. Do I want to do this series later? Absolutely. Dang straight, I do. However I have to be the bigger person and realize that I just do not have the time right now for this kind of commitment when it is not something I usually spend my time doing. Quality is important and I don’t want to post something that isn’t my best work.

But I still want to write about food. I still want to include some food posts. I like food, heck, I LOVE food. Food doesn’t really love my thighs but I love it still. (one of those love-hate relationships). At the time of this particular post, I have yet to come up with a name for the new little series but I did come up with one.

Side note: I love having things in series. Book series. Movie series (sometimes). TV series (Blue Bloods is my top one right now). When it comes to blogging, I like having separate mini series because it allows me to branch out and still keep things organized. Yeah, I’m weird that way.

I still need to create a first post for that new series but I’m pumped for it. Time wise, it’s a little more manageable; money-wise, it only requires my brain and my computer; and I don’t know, I think it’ll be fun.

Until we meet again between adventures,

Jocelyn

What’s your deal with content? Whether when you were starting out or now, I’d love to hear about it!

