In my family, several of our annual traditions involve food. While they really are all my favorite, one of highlights is in the summer: a big family barbecue. It’s a big potluck with my mom’s side of the family with everyone gathering around, bringing desserts and side dishes and my dad taking command of the grill. Unfortunately this year, I wasn’t able to attend. Actually this is the third year in a row that I have had to miss the barbecue (between Disney College Programs and a change of schedule in 2014) so 2016 will be my year. But even though I wasn’t able to attend, I wanted to pay homage to that tradition with a special post. So I reached out to some of my favorite food bloggers and members of the blogging groups I’m in. I wanted to celebrate summer and since today is Labor Day, this is my tribute to all those summer food fests that bring people together.

Spicy Loaded Guacamole

Spicy-Loaded-Guacamole_0507 (1)
This recipe comes from Alexandra of Confessions of Bright Eyed Baker:
“A recipe for fresh, spicy guacamole loaded with red onion, tomato, and a touch of lime juice for maximum flavor. Takes minutes to make and SO much better than store-bought!
I’m obsessed with guacamole and making it from scratch really takes it up a notch with tons of flavor and a good kick of heat. And let’s be real, every summer gathering is better when there’s a bowl of guac involved!”

Strawberry Zing! Frozen Yogurtfrozen-yogurt-square

Because strawberries and frozen yogurt. This comes from Sarah of Flourish & Knot:

Frozen yogurt is one of those pleasures of summer, particularly when it is a hot, blistering day! (And our house has no A/C!) I love desserts made with berries or citrus, because they are the perfect palate cleanser after a rich BBQ feast.”

Greek Turkey BurgerPicsArt_1435714291922

This delicious looking burger comes from Samantha at
I chose this recipe because it was simple, fun to make, and the kids gobbled them up. They were a huge hit in my house and super healthy.  Greek Turkey burgers are a great alternative to a regular hamburger. They are different but delicious and healthy.

Lemon Garlic Grilled Vegetable KabobsIMG_3790-2

 This last entry comes from Lindsay at Veggie Balance and I don’t need to tell you that I have her site bookmarked for future visits:
Description: Easy Grilled Vegetable Kabobs recipe using two simple, yet amazing ingredients for the marinade, fresh squeezed lemon and minced garlic really take it up to a whole new level
Why it’s my favorite: I honestly have a strong obsession with colorful vegetables. I absolutely love the way they just POP in pictures. Besides that though, I also have a strong obsession with fresh lemon and minced garlic. It’s a combination that goes together like PB&J. These are so easy to make ahead of time and then when you have company you just throw them on the grill and you get a healthy and delicious dinner for your guests. It’s perfection.”
