candis dream (1)

as told by Candis Hickman

As a girl I remember daydreaming often about my adult life.  I wasn’t too fussed about what I would ‘be when I grew up’ as long as it meant I could wear a pantsuit to work and live in the big city with my drop-dead gorgeous husband.   Some days I wanted to be a lawyer, other days an architect.  I knew I’d be a working class woman and dreamed of the nine to five.  Growing up in Australia I was accustomed to two seasons – summer and a slightly chilly change we referred to as ‘winter’.  I imagined my future in a world with all four seasons – I couldn’t wait to experience ‘Fall’!  Back then my dreams felt big and I didn’t doubt I would achieve them.

The first inkling that my dreams had shifted came during my second winter in Chicago.  I was sitting by the window in my tiny rental apartment in the city looking out as the snow drifted from the trees above.  It was a beautiful sight and yet I felt suffocated within my four walls.  I had the things I’d dreamed of my whole life – a job in which I could wear a pantsuit if I wanted, an apartment in a city with four seasons and a drop dead gorgeous husband.

But I realized there was one thing this life hadn’t afforded me… Freedom!

As an adult I now realize that my dream life can be summed up with one word.  Freedom. I want the freedom to live my life on my own terms and at my own pace.

Contrary to my childhood dreams, I want to live by the ocean in a home built just for me.  I want the freedom to paint the walls if I want.  I want the freedom to hang pictures and drill holes.  My home will be a beautiful combination of rustic meets beachy with an outdoor shower, an infinity pool and barbeque area.  I want an outdoor guesthouse for all my many visitors!

In my dream life I am never limited by finances.  I have the freedom to fly to Australia and visit my family whenever I feel the tug on my heart strings to do so.  I have the financial freedom to buy my father that ride-on lawnmower he’s always wanted and my mother that boat she always wished she could afford.  In my dream life paying bills is never a source of stress.

I dream of an uncaged life where I can travel and explore new places even on a week-day – a life where I have more ‘days off’ than ‘days on.’

In my relationship I dream of freedom; freedom from the bonds of childhood trauma, freedom from past relationships that impact on our present and future.  I dream of a relationship where we are free to pick up and move cities if we so want.  I want a relationship that is open, honest and pressure free.  Where we can build a life full of TIME; where we have the freedom to spend more than two hours a day in each other’s presence.

But most of all I want the freedom to invest in myself regularly.  I want to feel confident in knowing that I earned the investment.  I dream of a life free of worry, doubt and stress! I want the freedom to have a picnic outside in the middle of winter, to take an afternoon swim by the pier and to take coffee dates in the middle of the day.

And I know my dream life will arrive with the simple belief that it’s possible!

So what does your dream life look like? Can you sum it up with one word?

To read more from Candis, check out her website.

